Mindful Poetry

Daisy W by Wendy Ann GreenhalghI’ve just been visiting my family in Cornwall. A few days away made a little space in my head for writing other than the all consuming final draft of my novel. And as I sat in meditation each morning – and also sometimes in the afternoon too – short poems formed around my very vivid, direct experiences of the places I was in, the people I was with. Since my last blog was about the benefits that being present and waking to the moment can bring to our creating – I thought I’d share these little fragments with you. As you can see, mindful writing doesn’t have to contain earth-shattering philosophical meditations. The everyday and familiar are the best place to start. And if you feel inspired to practice some mindful writing too – please do share the results in the comments below or on the Art of Mindfulness Facebook page.

1

Making daisy chains,
canticle of skylarks,
the wedged caw of rooks
and my father, turning
the pages of the newspaper.

2

Sitting. Trundle of
floorboards somewhere
in the house, my sister’s
morning voice and the in
and out of my breath.

3

Leaving early. Runs
of dew on the taxi roof.
Wind turbines winding
up the mist on the hills.
And the soft burr of sadness.

Leave a Reply

